An introduction to the blog (and myself)

Brett Morgan
SONIC•CLT
Published in
2 min readFeb 3, 2018

What is it that gets you through your day? For me, it’s music. I find myself consuming new music or recycling old music for a majority of my waking hours. When I’m driving, I’m listening to music. When I’m cooking breakfast, I’m listening to music. When I’m exercising, I’m listening to music. For a lot of people, it’s what drives them. It can be a chance to escape or a chance to create/experience something beautiful. For those who create music, there is only one goal — to make a career out of it. Without proper exposure and access, that goal can be incredibly difficult. In every city in the country, there is a bustling local music scene that people gravitate towards. Music drives culture forward, which has been the main inspiration for this blog. I want to look at the city through the eyes of its musicians and artists. This unique perspective will allow a fresh perspective to take center stage every week.

My goal for this blog is to shed a spotlight on the local music and culture in the Charlotte area. There are plenty of sites, blogs, and pages on the internet centered around the national music scene, but it can be difficult to discover local talent without having real access. I plan on utilizing several different types of posts along the way: artist profiles, venue profiles, and event profiles. As each week passes, I’m sure that I’ll find new blog formats and new topics to discuss, but the plan for now is to take a deep dive into what the Charlotte music scene has to offer.

--

--

Brett Morgan
SONIC•CLT

I am a journalism student at UNC Charlotte. I’m incredibly passionate about music and its surrounding culture. Welcome to my life.