Thumbs Up Jedi

Brian Talbert
Brian Talbert’s Portfolio
4 min readNov 25, 2017

Over the summer I started posting various logo design work on Facebook and my cousin, Jake noticed and asked me to put some ideas together for two side businesses he has. The first is a company called Thumbs Up Cosplay and Armor.

My initial ideas for the Thumbs Up logo

Honestly I didn’t know this cousin very well so after taking notes from his initial request I looked him up on Facebook to see what kind of general style he would like. He is a very happy person with two small boys and a passion for comics and really anything “fun” so I knew he wouldn’t want a serious formal looking logo for this kind of business. He had sent over the gauntlet of Buzz Lightyear in his first email so I had a base to start the logo from. Off of that gauntlet I made a quick mock up of two of the above logos, then I thought to branch out to get myself and him thinking about different possibilities that where the top logo came from. I thought it would be cool to actually show a cartoon version of him in his costume. After working on those three designs I started the designs for his second side project: Grey Force Solutions.

This project was a little more formal, it is a consulting service he provides to get small businesses ahead in their field so I needed a more sophisticated logo that he could include as a signature in emails. For direction on this logo he included an emblem of a Grey Jedi, where he got the inspiration behind the business’ name, but other than that he was open to anything I could come up with.

Grey Jedi Emblem

That much freedom felt nice and I was able to mock up two distinct logos. One that was directly based on the emblem and another that was a bit larger and had more emphasis on the text than on the icon.

I sent him the mock ups I made for both businesses and he was very excited with what was there. He had further ideas, he didn’t care for the third Thumbs Up logo so I dropped that one and worked hard on refining the first two making sure the text was legible on the one with the gauntlet in particular. Then he loved the larger emphasis on the text in the second Grey Force logo, but wondered if we could just remove the emblem all together and just put a lightsaber underlining the text. I thought this was a clever idea because it would make the logo flow better horizontally instead of being what almost felt lopsided.

Left: Emblem emphasis logo. Right: Text emphasis logo.

So after more more input from him and a couple more revisions I finally came up with these two logos for Thumbs Up Cosplay and Armor.

The Gauntlet logo can be used for easy promo and the Profile logo can be posted easily in his Facebook page as the profile picture

And here are the two final logos for Grey Force Solutions

The emblem logo works well for a business card while the text heavy logo is great for email signatures

He was pleased with the final results and I ended up with four logos I could add into my portfolio.

--

--