7th August 2003

Brian Duff
Brian’s Ancient Blog Posts
2 min readDec 31, 2019

This is an ancient blog post originally published by Brian Duff on 7 August 2003 on Radio Weblogs, and rescued from the Wayback Machine.

I just converted the look and feel of the blog so that it vaguely follows the Oracle Browser Look & Feel Guidelines. Let me know what you think…

I used the new UIX visual editor in the forthcoming JDeveloper 9.0.5 to create the basic layout. That was the easy part… I spent a good hour or so fixing the mangled HTML that resulted from File->Save As… in Internet Explorer, and fixing all the image references so that they work properly with Radio. Worth it though, and I’m really hooked on the UIX visual editor now too :)

Update: Ugh. I just forced RadioUserLand to update this entry so that it’s not garbled when viewed as a permalink. God I’m such a BlogNewbie :)

Modern notes from future Brian:

This is roughly what the blog looked like (it’s lost some of its fidelity on its way through the WayBack Machine).

Arrrgh, my eyes!

I’d tried to replicate Oracle’s web UI design guidelines at the time. Several of Oracle’s internal sites had a similar look and feel. Despite being a pixel geek, I’m not actually all that good at visual design, and it shows :)

Radio Userland was a very successful early blogging software package from Dave Winer that also provided blog hosting. The service shut down in 2009.

--

--