Groceries, Lager, and Saturdays

Tale of the mundane

Adesh Acharya
Brickbat
Published in
3 min readMar 13, 2024

--

It is Sunday. I have to go for groceries alone. My wife can’t go because we’re looking after her brother’s dog for a week and we don’t want to leave him alone in the apartment. I don’t feel like going for groceries alone. And my wife can’t go alone too because I don’t want her to go alone. Or maybe I am too scared to be with the dog alone.

What makes it worse is that it is snowing here in Barrie, Canada. We don’t have a car. Which means brutal wind, lethal cold, and frustrating bus delays. I don’t want all that for a Sunday. I have the right to want, don’t I?

But we’re out of chicken and eggs. We wouldn’t mind that but we’re out of tomatoes too. And my wife minds that.
I need to have chicken. For my mind, feelings, and body.

My wife doesn’t care much about chicken. Maybe because she already has a big one in her life.

The only option I am left with is to use the Uber app to order groceries from Walmart or Food Basics. When I checked it earlier, it showed the normal amount plus a five-dollar delivery charge and ~ $ 10 HST.

Not bad, is it?

I look at our financial situation with my minimum wage and wonder if I should be enjoying such privileges. That’s why I kept asking you about…

--

--