LEGO Has An Increasingly Huge Problem

And it’s starting to annoy its richest customer-base — the AFOLs…

Attila Vágó
Bricks n’ Brackets
5 min readAug 25, 2022

--

I remember the moment as a child I hit 1000 LEGO pieces. It was a big day for me. A four-digit count of LEGO pieces! I was over the moon. I felt like I finally could build anything I could imagine, and let me tell you, I did. I built anything I could imagine. Everything that was in the catalogues I built some sort of replica of, even if I didn’t have the exact pieces. It didn’t matter if the colours were wrong, if the wheels weren’t the exact size they were meant to be. Nothing really mattered because I had 1000 pieces, and I felt LEGO rich.

Times have changed though and my measly 1000 piece collection in today’s LEGO would be laughable. That’s basically four Speed Champions sets, costing 20 bucks or so each. Heck, many medium sets these days are around the 1000-piece mark. But that’s not necessarily a problem. What is, however, that…

LEGO is chasing numbers, and it’s doing it in a bit of a questionable way.

Too many display sets

The first aspect that myself and many other LEGO fans have pointed out recently is the huge number of display sets the Danish toymaker launches. Now, don’t get me wrong, some of it…

--

--

Attila Vágó
Bricks n’ Brackets

Staff software engineer, tech writer, author and opinionated human. LEGO and Apple fan. Accessibility advocate. Life enthusiast. Living in Dublin, Ireland. ☘️