The Surprising Similarities Between Apple And LEGO

Two giants. Two very different industries. One shared UX language…

Attila Vágó
Bricks n’ Brackets
7 min readAug 29, 2022

--

LEGO is the Apple of toys. Can I say that? I think I can. The more I think about it, the more it makes sense. It’s considered a premium toy, just like Apple’s devices are considered to be premium tech. You never really think of these two behemoths having anything in common until you take a step back and analyse what makes some companies the pop culture icons they are today. You’d think that computers, phones, and watches have nothing to do with plastic bricks. If anything, Apple seems to almost have an aversion to plastic these days, so I don’t blame you for finding it hard to see what to me are obvious similarities, heck, staple ingredients of a successful and memorable brand.

It just works

I’ve been a LEGO fan for much longer than an Apple-head. Roughly 29 years of bricks in my life, but just about 10 of Apple devices. Regardless, if Apple had one selling-point that I always found unable to argue with, was the fact that “it just works”. Exceptions apply of course, as with anything in life, but for the overwhelming majority of those 10 years, my Apple devices served me well, and continue to do so.

--

--

Attila Vágó
Bricks n’ Brackets

Staff software engineer, tech writer, author and opinionated human. LEGO and Apple fan. Accessibility advocate. Life enthusiast. Living in Dublin, Ireland. ☘️