You Have To Be Crazy To Build This LEGO Set

The world’s largest ever LEGO set is coincidentally about the world itself…

Attila Vágó
Bricks n’ Brackets
8 min readNov 13, 2023

--

Photo by author

I had three choices. The Titanic, the Eiffel Tower or the World Map. These are the top three LEGO sets of all times in terms of piece-count. As much as I love everything Titanic, taking a few measurements around the apartment instantly ruled the iconic ship out. The Eiffel Tower, while I could have potentially found a place for it in the bedroom, somehow never impressed me enough as a LEGO set to spend 630 bucks on it. I was down to one choice — a set I was eyeing for a long time, but kept putting off purchasing not because of the cost, but rather its piece-count. 11,695. No, that’s not the set number. That’s the piece-count. The world’s largest LEGO set ever created, set #31203: World Map, for the relatively low price of 250 euros.

Given that it wasn’t in stock at the local LEGO store in Dublin, I had to order it online. A week later, I was presented with a massive box, far heavier than expected. In hindsight, I’m glad I didn’t try to haul it home from the store, even if it’s just a 10 minutes’ walk away. I guess all those little 1×1 dot pieces weigh a lot more than one might think. With a boxed weight of 5482 grams and 55.5 × 37.9 × 15.4 cm in size, this isn’t the largest in size, nor weight, but certainly isn’t far…

--

--

Attila Vágó
Bricks n’ Brackets

Staff software engineer, tech writer, author and opinionated human. LEGO and Apple fan. Accessibility advocate. Life enthusiast. Living in Dublin, Ireland. ☘️