5 Things I Never Share with Anyone

I don’t want them contaminated, stomped on, or ridiculed

✨ Bridget Webber
Bridget Webber Writes

--

Someone shares their toothbrush
Photo by Goby on Unsplash

I’m a writer, and since we live in the age of personal storytelling and often reward those who reveal vulnerability, it’s tempting to share my innermost experiences.

However, sometimes, making yourself vulnerable isn’t wise. It’s important to note that showing yourself in an emotionally naked sense won’t work well for you all of the time, no matter your profession or lifestyle.

We need to pick and choose with whom we share our special dreams, intimate desires, and painful triggers; otherwise, our openness can hurt us. For that very reason, I never share these five things with anyone.

Fears

As a former counselor, I can be left-brained and analytical. I am aware that my fears are keys to growth. They reveal areas in my psyche that are ripe for developmental work.

When a fear repeatedly pops up, I take note and make improvements. The occasional worry, however, slips by without fanfare because I don’t focus on it.

Even though I acknowledge my fears and deal with them, I rarely discuss them with others. In my written work, I might use fears I’ve already extinguished as examples to illustrate coping methods. But I never write about current…

--

--

✨ Bridget Webber
Bridget Webber Writes

Former counselor. Spiritual growth, compassion, mindfulness, creativity, and psychology. Support me at https://ko-fi.com/bridgetwebber