A Nearly Infallible History of the Reformation: Brief Book Review

History, from the Beginning (Book #12)

Brief Book Reviews
Published in
2 min readMar 28, 2021

--

In 2018 I realised my knowledge of history was just plain bad. This series charts my re-education, starting from the big bang and working my way to present day one book at a time. (Learn more)

As I was progressing through my history reading project, there was one topic that loomed larger than any other: the reformation. I knew it was an important event that couldn’t be avoided, but I was also intimidated by its scale, complexity, and relation to ideas of religion and belief.

In his book, Nick Page cuts through this theological academia with an approachable humour and sarcasm that makes understanding the reformation’s impact not just easy, but fun! For example, throughout the book each reformer is treated to their own ‘Top Reformers’ card, in which they are rated by Influence and Theological Importance, as well as Facial Hair and Hat Quality.

But jokes aside, Nick Page is a master storyteller. His carefully placed humour is not just used to entertain, but also captures the imperceptible change of culture in a way only satire can.

The echos of the reformation are clearly heard in the books that follow, and A Nearly History Account of the Reformation does a wonderful job of detailing why it was one of the most significant shifts in human society ever.

--

--

Brief Book Reviews

Lecturer in higher education who loves creating learning experiences. Find me at www.adamblades.com.