Being a prolific copywriter has nothing to do with typing fast.

Evgeni Asenov
Brief-er.
Published in
2 min readApr 20, 2020
How to produce a lot of content without hitting a creative block.
Courtesy of the wildly creative Michael Maltese and Chuck Jones.

If you approached me five months ago and told me that in the time frame between January and mid-April I’d produce nearly 200 articles, emails, pages and make the baby steps to launch my own copywriting shop, I’d probably tell you you’re crazy.

But in a world where everything moves a thousand miles a minute, producing an article every week or so just isn’t enough.

People. Want. Content.

And they want quality content that is both hard to think of and hard to produce.

And while I couldn’t say that every single one of those 200 pieces of content is the best thing you’ll ever lay your eyes on I’d lie.

But each served its purpose.

Doing some quick maths shows that for the past 105 days, I’ve, on average, produced 1.9 articles, emails, or website pages per day.

But learning how to write articles quickly is just a part of the equation. (Sheesh, those are more math terms in two sentences than what I’ve used in the last two years of high school!)

You need a system that works for you.

A missing piece of the puzzle that fits in your workflow.

Otherwise, you won’t stick to it.

So, what is your system, Evgeni!?

Don’t worry, I won’t try to sell you my time management course. Or am I?

My system is simple. Stupid simple.

I religiously scheduled my day the night before. Every day. (stupid simple, right?)

A random snapshop from my calendar from mid-February.
A random snapshot from my calendar from mid-February.

Now, I know that in order to predict how long something will take you to do it largely depends on how aware you are of your own skills. So, if you’re just starting out, this will most likely not work.

But if you’re like me and you’re completely aware of how much time a specific task will take you, your calendar will beat Asana, Google Tasks, or really any other to-do app on the market.

And that’s not all.

I’m currently in the process of building a brand new newsletter called Electric. You can enjoy my brief ramblings on marketing, copywriting and day-to-day time management by joining the lists here.

But just like you, I’m addicted to read more, write more, do more and in general, be more. So, share your tips below.

--

--