Uncover it, Focus on it, Perfect it.

Briefy Talks
Briefy Talks
Published in
4 min readNov 18, 2016

Introducing one of Briefy’s talented photographers. Tyeschea West based in Austin, Texas— one of the most positive and kind hearted creators we have ever had the pleasure of working with.

View her portfolio here, and keep up with her progress of honing her signature style via twitter — @TyescheaW.

“My experience as a photographer has been a roller coaster ride. Not only an exhilarating and scary one that goes up and down, but one that is ridden in the dark. I know the end will be a satisfying full circle, but I have no idea how long or how many twists and turns I will go through to get there.

While on this ride I’ve realized that I have to decide on one important thing, where do I want to sit? Where do I want to experience this adventure? In other words, what will my stylistic approach be and what do I want to focus on?

I noticed that I have changed seats so many times because I want to try different ideas and different perspectives. This is a healthy way to strip the layers off and get to the core of what kind of photography truly makes me full of inspiration and excitement with each passing click.

I have tried black & white, high key, natural, moody and monochromatic. I have tried architecture, people, landscapes…

The problem is, I like all of these things. I find interest in capturing all of these subjects in different ways. So why is choosing one or two so important? Isn’t it better not to limit myself?

The answer to that question, as many of you know, is no. According to the best photographers in the world, it is important to be a master of your craft, as well as your niche. That is the only way you can seriously compete and be called upon to do a job confidently and consistently.

To be a jack of all trades and a master of none, is not an appealing characteristic in this industry.

A signature style can help clients determine if you are a right fit for their project. Do they know what they are going to get if they hire you? Does your portfolio display a specific style and does it stand out? Is it consistent?

Clients feel safe choosing a photographer that has a definitive style because they have a precise idea of what the photos they ask for will look like. If a photographer has a firm grasp on who they are as an artist, clients can determine if their own stylistic approach for their established product or future event is in line with that photographer.

The journey of defining my own style has been a long one. I’ve tried many things, which has helped the discovery process, but it is still ongoing.

The surprising thing that gives me comfort is knowing that my style is already within me. It already exists. My job now is to uncover it, focus on it, and perfect it.

I am looking for a seat on this ride that has room to grow in ways that I can’t even imagine. One that allows me to continue to raise my hands in the air with elation, during both the highs and the lows. We’ll see where my heart decides to sit.”

See more of Tyeschea’s work on her portfolio here, and keep up with her progress of honing her signature style via twitter — @TyescheaW. We are sure to be hearing from her again soon here on our blog!

--

--

Briefy Talks
Briefy Talks

Reinventing the way we create visual content. Photography, 360° & VR, Briefy provides smart business solutions and global opportunities for the creators