Senior Tech Tom Adamson

The Good, The Bad and The Tad

Twom Lord
Brighton Electric Digest

--

It’s always the same when you’re telling a story, the rather sticky issue of where to begin. Yes the correct answer is at the beginning, but in this case I don’t want to do that as the beginning is rather boring. So getting started and omitting early boyhood, education and coming to Brighton and all that, am Tad but my name’s Tom. If you’ve bought a jack lead at Brighton Electric there a 95% chance I’ve made it.

So today I will be taking the form of words in order to walk you through the process of how I make the Jack leads we sell. Word of Warning! If you do not wish to know the inside secrets of this please stop reading now!

Still here? Off we go then. When I am creating, yes, creating, a jack lead, there are a few must haves that I need. First is a length of lead, any length does the job but I must admit that 6 Meters is my personal favorite. Second is the jack heads, as in that’s what I need second not that it’s my second favorite thing. Once I have these two vital pieces of the jack lead puzzle, the rest is easy. I strip away the rugged outer crust of the lead to expose the soft inner tube. Once this is done it’s on with the good, old soldering iron, and after the desired temperature has been reached a liberal dose of solder is applied to the inner vitals of the jack head, and then, with the assistance of a soldering tool, the inner lead is fixed in to its right and proper place. And there you are, if you follow me, it’s a simple as that.

So next time you come in to Brighton Electric and see one of the little beauties, you’ll know where it came from, and the care and love that went in to making it. Now, I know what you’re all thinking, do I take requests? The short answer is yes. Any length and any heads, just state it and I will do my utmost to give you the jack you want. And yes, before you ask, if it does break then just toddle along back, tap me on the shoulder and I say tut tut and remedy the defect ;)

--

--