The Wonderful Wizard of bOz

Joey Bosworth
Brighton Electric Digest
2 min readFeb 1, 2018

Hello there! If you’re questioning the title, you’re correct in doing so… it’s not a self promotion tool, egotistical or arrogant statement; it’s simply a very clever play on words combining a classic American children’s novel and an abbreviation of my surname. Interestingly, the novel by L. Frank Baum was first published on my birthdate back in 1900.

I’m the drum tech here at Brighton Electric Studios, this involves keeping the twenty or so rehearsal, recording and hires kits in good shape! I have a little workshop on site lovingly named ‘DrumWorld’, this is where anything reported as ‘in need of some love’ is left. I also order most of the items in for our rehearsals and tour supply shop. If there’s anything you want us to get in; any special strings or drumsticks, please do just let me know.

I started at Brighton Electric back in 2014, on a two month work experience placement, previously being a client since starting University in 2010. Once the morning set-up of the building was learned, fun job number one was ripping up the wooden flooring in room 3 with Sam, our media man, I was hooked! After numerous builds, destructions and re-builds I have seen a lot change here at Electric, and with the introduction of our service & hires shop, has added another dimension to what we do here and what we can offer.

I have learned a lot during my time here, picking up little tricks from all musicians coming through our studios. My aim is to provide you lovely readers with tips and tricks under the umbrella of DrumWorld; whether this be re-heading a kit, tuning, drum hacks, triggers and electronics plus plenty more!

Stay tuned…. (in E standard)

Joe

--

--