Writing and Art

The Ethics of the Digital Age

My moral struggle with AI generated art

Suzy Jacobson Cherry
Brigid’s Arrow
Published in
6 min readJun 12, 2023

--

I once wrote by hand with a pen or pencil, on paper. Then I used a typewriter. Now I use my computer. Times change as technology develops. This AI art was generated using DreamStudio and edited with MS Photo by the author.

Like most everyone writing on Medium, when I write a story I want to find images that fit the story perfectly.

I prefer to use my own images, to be honest. After all, I’m an artist myself, after a fashion. I paint and draw. I take lots of photographs with my phone. Often I can find something that serves my purpose simply by scrolling through my photos.

Sometimes a bit of my own artwork will work wonders.

“Comma” is an acrylic painting on a 4 inch x 4 inch tile. The comma represents interludes in life where a breath is needed before going on. It’s a reminder to breathe, refocus, and move into the next act. “Comma” is available for $25 on the Tombstone Rose Etsy shop.

I don’t mind using public domain images, when I am absolutely positive they are free to use. The site PublicDomainPictures is great when I need something older or historic. There are some sites out there where I can find vintage art and cards that I will happily use, when appropriate, such as Free Vintage Illustrations.

I’ll often find exactly what I need on Picryl or Pixabay. I have also used Unsplash, but I tend to stay away from it since so many of the photos there have been used here by multiple writers. When it’s allowed, I’ll do a little editing for color and shading…

--

--

Suzy Jacobson Cherry
Brigid’s Arrow

Writer. Educator. Priestess. Not bound by genre. Founder & Editor of Brigid's Arrow and Petits Fours; Editor of Bouncin & Behavin Poems