LAYOFFS

10 Signs That a Layoff Is Coming

Plus one bonus clue

Larry Cornett, Ph.D.
Invincible Career
Published in
5 min readJan 18, 2017

--

Empty conference room table
Photo by Pixabay on Pexels

After working in Silicon Valley for over 23 years, I’ve been on all sides of the corporate layoff experience. More times than I care to admit.

I’ve been in a small startup where the entire company was laid off after an acquisition. Every single one of us. Such a festive party atmosphere!

I’ve also been at large corporations where I had to lay off people, sometimes every 6 months. That’s such an unpleasant experience for everyone involved. It’s very different than letting someone go for poor performance, policy violations, harassment, etc.

After you’ve been through a few of these layoff experiences, you start to notice recurring patterns of behavior. You start to see familiar signs. You get that little “Uh oh…” feeling in the back of your mind.

Where there’s smoke, there’s fire
Photo by Pixabay on Pexels

I’m going to start by apologizing to my friends in HR and those who are managing teams in the corporate world. I know these things are supposed to be a surprise. But, the real secret is that everyone kind of knows when it’s coming. However, let’s all admit that it is dehumanizing to be walked to your cubicle by…

--

--

Larry Cornett, Ph.D.
Invincible Career

I'm a Freedom Coach who works with you to optimize your professional career, lifestyle business, & personal life. Become Invincible! https://larrycornett.coach