No news is bad news

Things may be quiet, but that doesn’t mean everything is ok

Larry Cornett, Ph.D.
Invincible Career

--

As an introvert, there’s nothing better than being left alone to do your thing. No one is bothering you, or talking to you, and you can just focus on your work every day. Ahhhhhh!

Even after decades of a career that benefited from frequent discussions, collaboration, and partnerships, I can easily slip into a state of comfortable solitude. I turn off my phone, and I’m happy that I’m being left alone.

No news is good news, right?

But, as I discovered early in my career, no news can be bad news. As an employee, if you’re not being kept in the loop, considered, or remembered, that’s bad.

It’s actually really bad.

As a leader, your silence is damaging.

As an entrepreneur, a quiet business is a dying business.

When silence isn’t golden

If you’re ambitious, silence isn’t golden. Why? You may be hungry for the promotion path, but that isn’t going to happen if people aren’t actively engaging with you. If you aren’t being kept in the loop, there is probably a reason for concern.

  1. Your input clearly isn’t valued or deemed necessary. Otherwise, you’d be asked…

--

--

Larry Cornett, Ph.D.
Invincible Career

I'm a Freedom Coach who works with you to optimize your professional career, lifestyle business, & personal life. Become Invincible! https://larrycornett.coach