Plant Parenthood in the 21st Century

Hailey Spencer
Bringing Back Botanic
5 min readOct 3, 2020

As a newcomer to the indoor plant community, most of my plant-oriented interactions occur online. I frequent social media accounts, online forums, and order all the necessities for 2-day delivery.

But what about the plant veterans, who started their plant journey without access to virtual plant storefronts or the wealth of knowledge that stems from online community groups?

I spoke with Heimshaily Rai, an amazing individual who balances mom-life, her flight attendant career, and still maintains her passion for indoor greenery. Her love of flora has even encouraged her to collaborate with a small business crafting pots and planters, PlantStudio.

Heim presenting her pilea peperomioides, or chinese money plant. Source: @greenandsassy https://www.instagram.com/greenandsassy/?hl=en

Q: What was your first exposure to indoor houseplants, and what were your impressions?

A: I’m from a lush and beautiful town called Darjeeling, located at the foothills of the Himalayas in India. While growing up in my home town I always saw my grandmother and my mother growing seasonal flowers with great joy and pride. We also had a few evergreen houseplants, succulents and bonsais. (Curious about these plants? Plant Encyclopedia)

Q: That sounds like such a loving home, a great environment to grow in, for you and the plants! Does your childhood influence your love of plants now?

A: As child I was not much interested in the hobby but now as an adult, it has grown on me and I feel it has helped me to build a better bond with my mother. We are constantly updating each other on our plants.

Q: Tell me about your first house plant, was it maybe a clipping of your mother’s plants?

A: When I first moved to Dubai, I just had one jade plant bought from IKEA on my dressing table. I wanted it as decor and had no clue that it’s a succulent and almost killed it with overwatering.

Q: Well, we all start somewhere, haha. Is your jade plant still with you today?

A: I did my research and learned and I snipped two tiny stalks and that was my first propagation and a successful one! Yes, I still have that jade plant!

Heim ‘very carefully’ waters her suspended plants, she crafted their macrame tethers herself. Source: @greenandsassy https://www.instagram.com/greenandsassy/?hl=en

Q: What is your preferred method of plant shopping?

A: I love the whole plant shopping experience. I love strolling in garden centers and plant shops and handpicking plants which sparks joy in me. So, I prefer visiting garden centers and plant shops and shopping for leisure and since I travel for work I also get this amazing opportunity to visit garden centers and local plant shops around the world.

(Check out these world renown gardens)

Q: There is something so satisfying about holding a plant and deciding to bring it home. Have you been able to keep shopping in-person during quarantine?

A: Over the past few months a number of online plant shops have mushroomed here in this region. Which is great, as they get plants that are not easily available in the regional market, and also they are catering to this sudden boom in the houseplant market. So, during the pandemic ( apparently it’s a plantdemic like they say… haha) I got quite a few from these local online plant shops but given a chance, I would love to go take a stroll in the garden center and handpick them.

Q: I miss that experience, too, just the joy of strolling amongst the greenery. Do you find it easier to purchase materials for your plants when it’s all just one click away?

A: Yes, getting your supplies for your plants with just one click is so much more convenient and it does take the stress off a bit and makes planting even more enjoyable.

Q: With such easy access to plants and their required materials, are you more encouraged to continue growing your collection, or do you find yourself overwhelmed by all the options?

A: To have easy online access to plants and the supplies is rather tempting, more than encouraging, to continue growing the houseplant collection. Having said that, yes I do find myself overwhelmed with all those options.

Q: There is a lot of information out there, for better or worse. With all your expertise though, I hope you have been able to connect with the plant community and share your knowledge and pottery!

A: I’ve joined a few FB groups, but I’m not very active. I don’t get much time to interact as I’m constantly juggling my full-time job, side hustle, self-care, plant care and maintenance, household chores and personal life. But yes, over the months of downtime I have made a number of online plant friends, and yes, they have been super supportive, kind and helpful.

Heim debuts her variegated pothos, this is the Devil’s Ivy strain. Source: @greenandsassy https://www.instagram.com/greenandsassy/?hl=en

Q: It’s always nice to hear that social media has connected people, especially everyone in the plant community with so much information to share. I mean, that’s where I got my start. Would you say online is a good place to start one’s floral fanaticism?

A: Of course, social media has increased awareness of the plant community, to say the least. Social media has hyped the indoor plant scene; not that I’m complaining… haha

Q: Overall, do you find that social media has connected people who share a love of the plant aesthetic?

A: Overall I feel that social media has actually connected people around the globe who share the love of plants and their aesthetics. During the lockdown it made strangers share plant parenthood and show-off with pride and joy their plant babies and interact.

You heard it here first folks, the plant community has blossomed given the access to resources online. And has even encouraged more diversity in the flora we choose to bring home and increased our knowledge of care and techniques.

Huge thanks to Heimshaily! Thank you for your time and insight into your wonderful life and plant journey! Check out Heim’s collaboration with PlantStudio for some ‘glamour pots’, and follow her on Instagram or Facebook for plant care and some flora fun!

Heim and her thriving anthurium clarinervium, often called the the velvet clarinervium. Source: @greenandsassy https://www.instagram.com/greenandsassy/?hl=en

--

--

Hailey Spencer
Bringing Back Botanic

You’ve found Hailey, the girl with the curls. Aspiring world traveler and bread-making savant.