6-hour qualifier | R/T Angel Island

Lauren Au Brinkmeyer
brink-of-france
Published in
1 min readApr 13, 2018

I stand in the shower, cold water running down my back. My teammates complain that all the warm water is gone. I smile — the ice cold water feels refreshing after a “hot” pool swim.

Tomorrow, my pod of 3 English Channel swimmers will attempt a R/T Angel Island swim. It’ll take roughly 4 miles to get to Angel Island, another 3.5 to get around it, and 3–4 miles to return home, so in total anywhere from 10–12 miles. The goal was 5 hours, but with the reality of the changing tides, we’ll most likely hit our 6 hour qualifying time.

English Channel Qualifier: 6 hours in <61°F (16°C) | Bay is 56–58°F

Alcatraz pales in comparison to Angel Island

I’m scared. This will be my longest, and most likely, toughest course because of fighting a changing tide, waves, and swimming in place.

I’m nervous. Has all my winter swim training prepared me for this? Should I have swam in the Bay more this week? Will my shoulder hold up?

I’m excited. If I can get through this qualifier, then this will be the last piece to my application (boat pilot secured, medical assessment, fees paid). I’ll pass cargo ships, ferries, and maybe even dolphins.

Let’s do this!

--

--