Making an Impact: My journey as a Campaigns Coordinator

Bristol Hub
Bristol Hub
Published in
3 min readMay 31, 2023

Being a campaigns coordinator at Bristol Hub has been an incredibly rewarding experience for me. Throughout my tenure as a campaigns coordinator, I had the opportunity to work on several impactful projects that broadened my skill set and deepened my understanding of effective campaign strategies. From World Mental Health Day to the COP27 Conference and LGBTQ+ Creative Space Campaign, each initiative provided unique challenges and opportunities for growth. In this blog post, I will share some memorable achievements of the campaigns team and reflect on the various projects I have been a part of.

As the campaigns coordinator, one of the proudest moments was organising the World Social Justice Day Speaker event. Our team worked closely with the Unity and Diversity in Law Society to invite Mr. Clive Stafford Smith OBE as our guest speaker. The event was held at the prestigious Wills Memorial Building and we collaborated with various social science and law societies. This event was successful, with 50 students from various disciplines attending and showing a keen interest in career opportunities in the field of social justice!

Social Justice Talk in the Wills Memorial Building

During the COP27 Conference campaign, we worked closely with the Sustainability team to produce informative Instagram posts that aimed to educate our audience about the conference. Additionally, we sought to encourage the participation of students and academics in discussions surrounding climate change. Our team conducted a sustainability questionnaire, collecting valuable insights from our students that we can utilize to create a more eco-friendly campus. We also had the honour of interviewing Professor Nick Townsend, who shared his informed perspective on the impact of climate change on global health inequality as a policy researcher.

The LGBTQ+ Creative Space Campaign was another inspiring endeavour. By partnering with various art and media creation societies, we provided a platform for the LGBTQ+ community at the University of Bristol to showcase their creativity. We had the honour of collaborating with UBTV, a university TV society, to create a video interview featuring several student artists exploring what being queer means to them. Through this collaboration, we not only celebrated their talent and empowered their voices, but also had the opportunity to raise awareness of Bristol Hub to a wider audience.

My role as a campaigns coordinator at Bristol Hub has been a transformative experience. I have not only gained practical skills in campaign marketing and social media content creation but also witnessed the power of effective teamwork and collaboration. Each project and achievement has contributed to my growth and deepened my commitment to making a positive impact in the Bristol community. As I reflect on my time at Bristol Hub, I am grateful for the friendships and connections I have formed with individuals who share the same passion for creating change. These experiences have reinforced my belief in the power of collective action and have motivated me to continue advocating for positive societal transformation.

Some of the Bristol Hub Committee at the Bristol Students Union

In the future, I hope to build on these accomplishments and explore new opportunities for engaging and inspiring the Bristol community. Together, we can continue to make a difference and create a more inclusive and equitable society.

--

--

Bristol Hub
Bristol Hub

We connect Bristol students with social action opportunities to make a difference, working in collaboration with @Bristol_SU. Part of the @StudentHubs network.