Welcome!

Kathy Tiley
Bristol On The Run
Published in
4 min readJan 4, 2018

Welcome to the blog. I’m Kathy 👋.

I don’t believe there is such a thing as a typical runner, but if there were, it would not be me.

My husband, Mike, me, and my daughter Lucy,

‘ I forgot my kit, Miss!’

When I was at school I hated PE. Even a detention for forgetting your kit was better than running around a freezing hockey pitch. In my early 20’s I avoided exercise wherever possible. My motto was ‘why walk when you can drive?’. Even now, I’m not an exercise fanatic. Team sports aren’t my thing, I’m ridiculously uncoordinated, and although I’ve learned to love the great outdoors, I’m not one of those people who says ‘I’ve got to be active, I can’t sit around in my pyjamas all day’. (I totally can do that).

Me? go to a RUNNING CLUB?

I got into running in mid 2014. My Dad (who had always been a runner), started running with a local running club in the village, and since my sister and I had talked about shifting a few pounds before our summer holiday, we decided to go along. We’d tried running before, but we’d always plan the flattest and shortest route possible and pretty much hate every step. We wouldn’t have considered a running club before, thinking they must be full of super fit, mega fast runners. But then, if a 63 year old granddad can fit in, we must have a chance!

The first session was intervals on the playing field, which was tough, but once we’d got our breath back we realised we’d actually really enjoyed it. (With the added bonus of escaping the house at the toddler’s bedtime!). We carried on going, and found the varied sessions and new running routes really inspiring.

Runners are nice people!

The main bonus was meeting new people and making great friends. The people I met were absolutely nothing like I’d imagined. There are people from all sorts of backgrounds, varying in ability, but always incredibly friendly, welcoming and encouraging - something I’ve come to realise is true of 99% of runners you meet.

Frampton Cotterell Harriers at Watermore 10k 2015

Marathon calling…

With the inspiration and support from the club, I started going to parkruns and entering races, building up to Bristol Half Marathon in 2015 and several more half marathons to follow. By 2016, I had started to believe that I might, just possibly, be able to run a marathon. So when I missed out on the London Ballot, I entered Brighton Marathon.

Looking at the mileage on the training plan was, at first, terrifying! Luckily, there were several of us running spring marathons so we had lots of support on those long runs. I really enjoyed branching out into other areas of the city and planning new routes in order to keep it interesting. I saw parts of the city I’d never seen before, or saw them in a completely different light. I realised how diverse Bristol is in terms of the landscape, and what a fantastic place it is to run in.

I did it! Brighton Marathon finishing straight (finish time 4h 55m 09s)

Bristol On The Run

Since I discovered my love of running and a new love of Bristol, I’m always talking about it and trying to encourage others to give it a go. #sorrynotsorry. In this blog I’ll be sharing new routes and hidden gems around the city, (including the all important refueling spots 🍰 ☕️), my opinions on the best local races, clothing, apps and gadgets, and hopefully sharing some useful tips on training, be it Couch to 5k or your first marathon. I hope you enjoy it!

Bristol On The Run is also on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook

--

--