Are we “Free” (will)

Andrew Peters
Brit Lit 2322
Published in
2 min readJul 27, 2020

According to Merriam-Webster, there are two definitions of “freewill.” The first definition of freewill is a “voluntary choice or decision.” The second definition of freewill is the “freedom of humans to make choices that are not determined by prior causes or by divine intervention.”

Today, there is a strong argument over whether or not people have a say in how their lives play out. Ironically, this argument has been going on for centuries. And we can look no further then philosopher John Calvin and the Calvinists. Yet, the answer to this simple debate has eluded humanity to the point that there may not be an answer at all. Thus, the “Seven Wonders of the Ancient World” should be updated to eight.

In life, people say it is important to have conviction. But to say I am not conflicted on the topic of freewill/determinism is an understatement. And from time to time I ask myself many questions. Like Elon Musk says, are we all living in a simulation? Do some things happen because they are just supposed to happen? Do I have control over my own life?

Frankly, I cannot answer questions I do not know the answers to. The argument over whether or not people have a say in how their lives play out is entirely up to perspective. For example, as an American, the idea of freewill is understood to be a fundamental characteristic of any free society. As a result, I believe in freewill. Unsurprisingly, this perspective could vary to citizens of other countries, countries of which that heavily dictate what their citizens can and cannot do. As a Catholic, the idea of freewill is understood to be a work of grace from God. As a result, I believe in freewill. And again, to no surprise, this perspective could vary to those of other faiths or even no faith.

In closing, I cannot tell you who or what to believe. It is up to you, the individual, to decide how their life proceeds. Does it follow a blueprint? Or does it follow nothing at all? Maybe it follows both, who knows. All I know is that the sun sets and rises. And, that Benjamin Franklin once said, “in this world nothing can be certain, except death and taxes.” I will take that to the bank!

--

--