My Story

Darren Phillips
Brit Lit 2322
Published in
2 min readJul 7, 2020

I was born in Arlington in December of 1998. I’ve lived in the Dallas-Fort Worth metroplex my whole life, but mostly in Mansfield. I have 2 half-sisters and 3 step-brothers, but I only grew up with my sisters.

My childhood was fairly normal, I’ve always been a bit of a nerdy kid. In intermediate school, I joined band as a percussionist. In middle school, I was part of the Math & Science Competition team where we would travel to events and compete in certain categories. For me, my favorite categories were the calculator and science competitions. I stayed in band through middle school and into high school where I joined the marching band. I played in the pit section, which is a section of percussion that stays stationary on the front sideline and plays more melodic instruments. Marching band was pretty much my whole life in high school. I would get to school early, go to the band hall before classes started, and I would stay in the band hall for a while after school ended even when there wasn’t mandatory band practice. The longest I was away from home for a band event was close to 20 hours. After graduating high school, I was a bit lost as to what I wanted to do. I had focused so heavily on band in high school that I hadn’t really thought about what I wanted to go to school for. After changing my mind several times, I landed on Computer Science. My dad taught me a lot about computers and both my parents also played video games which heavily influenced my interests. Throughout my childhood, I was an avid video game player and always had a large interest in technology thanks to the influence from my parents. Growing up we always had a console to play on. From the Nintendo 64, to the PlayStation 1, PlayStation 2, PlayStation3, Xbox, Xbox 360, Wii, and I always had my own computer that I played games on. I realized that I had a passion for this technology that was close to my passion for music in high school and decided I should pursue it.

Which brings us to today. I’m currently enrolled in an online Bachelor’s of Computer Science program at Auburn University. I have an interest in the cybersecurity field as well as game development. I’ll be graduating in Spring of 2022 and hopefully finding a job somewhere in the metroplex shortly after. While I haven’t figured out if I want to go fully down the cybersecurity or the game development route, I am studying both in my spare time. Learning to code and how to think like a computer has been fun and challenging and I’m happy I chose to pursue it.

Thank you for reading my story. I look forward to reading yours and seeing what this class has to offer; a good story is an underrated thing.

--

--