A Time For Everything

Cassidy Collins
British Inside
Published in
2 min readSep 7, 2018

Great Britain. I’ve wanted to visit since a child, when I thought England was the proper name for all of Europe. I’ve traveled overseas a few times, so when the opportunity arose to consider my college’s study abroad programs, I researched almost all options in the UK. And approximately 24 hours from the time I write this, I will be waiting for my flight to Scotland. This is my time.

Pictured Above: NOT Scotland. The view from my ride through the Austrian countryside, four years ago.

Want to know a secret? Scotland has never been high on my destination list. Stirling University, however, captured my attention the moment I discovered its partnership with UNCW. The university boasts an accredited film and media program, so as an up-and-coming Communication Studies and Creative Writing major, the prospect of studying there made my heart skip. I’m glad I chose Stirling for several reasons — the town’s connection to the Queen of England, its rich (and complex) history, its monuments to notable authors. The gateway to the highlands will be my temporary home.

Less than 24 hours until I leave my house, my family, my hometown. The time to move out has finally arrived. Still, a calming placidity leaves me conflicted. My life-changing journey is the chance to achieve goals; but now I sit in my bedroom and fight off sleep. This summer seemed everlasting. UNCW’s fall semester began almost a month ago, so why do I expect more summer days to roll by?

There is a time for everything, as Proverbs states, and now is time for a change. Maybe I’ve lived at home too long. Maybe my feelings will adjust the instant I reach the airport. Tonight, after all, is the night I’ve waited for my entire life.

And tomorrow I live the trip I’ve longed for.

Pictured Above: Favorite view from the fortress at San Juan, Puerto Rico. My last trip overseas.

--

--