A look into ‘Britney Jean’

A fan’s thoughts on Britney Spears’ latest album.

Anthony Romano
Britney Spears

--

When Britney Spears released her 8th studio album fans had mixed emotions. This album was created “for the fans,” said Britney.
Is it everything we had been hoping for?

I’ve been a fan of Britney since the Mickey Mouse Club days. We didn’t get the Disney Channel, but whenever a free Disney weekend happened, I was in MMC heaven. When Britney resurfaced on the music scene with …Baby One More Time, I was hooked. I can remember stopping dead in my tracks to check out the video on MTV (insert standard quip about when MTV actually played videos). Britney had become a staple in my music collection and hasn’t left ever since.

With countless successes, and some trials and tribulations, I have stood by Britney since the beginning. I will admit, I was a bit apprehensive when news of a new album was starting to surface. I liked Femme Fatale (I still sing Up and Down every time I take the stairs) but it just felt too…processed. I was hoping for a little more classic Britney with the release of this new album and honestly, I wasn’t disappointed.

Vocals were back. Each track on Femme Fatale was so auto-tuned that it lost the essence of Britney. Britney Jean offers up the quirky, pleasantly distinct voice I’ve come to love. No she doesn’t have the vocal range of Mariah or Celine, but…breaking news…that’s okay! Everyone who has made a name for themselves in the music industry has done so because they brought something unique. Britney specializes in being a spectacle, an entertainer, and an artist.

I think there are some great stand-out tracks on Britney Jean. My favorites include: Alien, Work B**ch, Tik Tik Boom feat. T.I., Brightest Morning Star, and Now That I Found You.

There is much more depth to the album overall and I think that has caused a bit of a disconnect with the general public. Gone are the days of a plethora of sultry tracks in which Britney pants and moans about wanting to dance with the guy across the room. Instead, heartbreak and spirituality take center stage. It’s nice to have songs that are not only relate-able but are also inspirational. Granted there are still plenty of booty shaking moments in Britney Jean, but the change of pace to something more…real…is a welcomed and refreshing transition. This was a therapeutic album for Britney in which she co-wrote every song and I’m very happy with the final result!

After 15 years of being a fan, I’ll finally get to meet Britney during her Piece of Me show at Planet Hollywood, part of her 2 year Las Vegas Residency. She seems focused, driven and back on track to being one the top entertainers of our generation. Britney Jean brings new life into Britney “the brand.” Now if we can just work on a cologne for men to add to her perfume line at Elizabeth Arden we will be set!

--

--

Anthony Romano
Britney Spears

Graphic Designer | Tweeting about design, inspiration, photography, music and more!