Brown Family Photos

Brittany Keller
Brittany Keller Photography
4 min readNov 17, 2018

Family pictures taken for heartfelt reasons.

First things first. Let’s introduce my family. I have two stepbrothers named Jesse and Jeremy. They are both married to wonderful ladies and have a 6 kids all combined. They’re both playful, funny guys who might have gotten me into some trouble when I was a little younger. All together we have a big happy family.

This is Jeremy’s Family:

This is Jesse’s Family:

Recently Jeremy was diagnosed with a rare, aggressive form of Leukemia. It was devastating for our family. As a favor Jeremy’s wife, Liz asked if I could take family pictures for them before Jeremy was admitted back into the hospital to start chemo therapy. It all happened very fast and it was very scary. It still is scary, but now the initial shock is over.

These are the pictures I got of his family. They are just starting their lives and are honestly so cute. The kids did great considering all of the distractions at wheeler farm (where we took the pictures.)

Now it has been a few months since Jeremy was initially admitted to the hospital and began treatments. Everyone was hoping for a speedy recovery and that the initial chemo therapy treatments would cure him. Unfortunately, the first round of chemo did not go as well as we had hoped. Jeremy was constantly in pain and had more than 50% of the cancer still left in his body. So the doctors started him on more radical therapy. This is much more intense and lasts longer than the initial treatment. It was extremely disappointing to hear that he had to start his harsher treatment.

But it is not all bad news. Yesterday we got news that Jesse is a full match for bone marrow and can give a transplant to Jeremy. This is the best news we have received so far. It really lifted everyones spirits up just in time for the holidays. I am excited and hopeful for Jeremy to make a full recovery and beat this cancer. While he is in the hospital he has helped me with a few of the UX projects I’ve worked on. He goes through the products and gives me feedback. It definitely has brought us closer together. You can check out my AR space project, it’s Jeremy’s favorite.

Jesse and his family decided it was time to get their family pictures done too. They asked me to take their photos and I happily agreed. They have a new baby boy that we were waiting for before we did updated family photos. So here they are, a big happy family of 6.

I hope that this big step family of mine continues to be happy, healthy, and continues to get me into trouble.

--

--

Brittany Keller
Brittany Keller Photography

UX/UI Designer @ Anonyome Labs. Photography dabbler. Student at UVU. Sarcastic charmer. Art lover. Handy with a laptop.