Meditation

What is Meditation

The different types of meditation explained

Muang'Akili Tum'zito
Broader Insights
Published in
4 min readAug 9, 2021

--

I am sure you are already family with meditation. But sometimes the word meditation can mean different things to different people. I decided to write a dedicated post to differentiate different types of meditation and their purpose.

According to the oxford dictionary to Meditate is to focus one’s mind for a period of time, in silence or with the aid of chanting, for religious or spiritual purposes, or as a method of relaxation. where meditation is the act of doing it.

Though this definition is right, I would like to add some elements into it, that to meditate is to focus your attention or to put your awareness on a specific thing for a period of time, for a variety of purposes.

Why do I beg to differ? as a meditation practitioner, I use it for various purposes. So I am going to explain it based on my experiences and knowledge.

What is the purpose of meditation?

There are three main purposes of meditation, which are as follows:

  1. For Personal improvement, meditation can help a person improve their quality of life and their wellbeing. In most cases, a lot of people meditate to deal with the challenges of their daily lives…

--

--

Muang'Akili Tum'zito
Broader Insights

An ordinary person, experiencing an extraordinary phenomenon. I talk, write and do all things life offers.