I Said No To The Culture Warriors

Lament of the suppressed

Radhika Tara Kali
Broads Non Grata
2 min readOct 5, 2019

--

Watercolor by Radha Chetna Laxhmi ©

She’s a bhartiya naari¹ they say
She should wear a saree

My skin is censored at the hands of men
My worth depends solely on the clothes I wear
I can’t wear shorts
I don’t dare

They gather behind their banners
Recruit their ‘senas’²
Assemble!
Culture Warriors
Make her pay!
They say
Eyes towards me

Every time I step out of my home
I’m scared
Are my sleeves too short?
Better be safe
So I go grab a shawl

My character is based on the threads I wear
She’s in a saree?
sarvgun sampann³
They say

You would be perfect
It wasn’t for the jeans you wear
Marriageable
If it wasn’t for the ‘boy friends’ you met

You’re a bhartiya naari
Don’t drink that western poison
Go wear a saree
You look elegant and poised in

Feminist?
Ha! Feminazi
Cry the Culture Warriors
City squares, bazaars, strip malls
They’re all war zones

Whore
Slut
Randi
Those are the labels they use
For the rebellion
For the women who refuse
To follow their sick rules
Women like me
Daughters
Mothers
Aunts
We become ‘fair game’

In us, they see their chance
For glory
I sprayed acid on her!
I beat her up!
I showed her what happens
When she doesn’t cover up

Go wear a saree
They say for the hundredth time

It comes up from my gut
Visceral
Unstoppable
The most powerful word

NO

~

©Radha Chetna Laxhmi. All Rights Reserved.

  1. Bhartiya Naari is an ‘ideal Indian woman’. She wears sarees. She is straight. She is very religious. She doesn’t have boyfriends. Or boy friends. She is a virgin till she’s in her marriage bed. She doesn’t swear. You get the idea.
  2. Senas — Hindi for army
  3. Sarvgun sampann-the girl who’s got everything. She’s ‘reputable’. Think Regency England’s ton’s definition of a marriageable woman.

--

--

Radhika Tara Kali
Broads Non Grata

Bisexual. Polyamorous. Cis-woman. Also, I’m Slytherclaw.