Who is Broadway Mama?

Brandi Starr
Broadway Mama
Published in
2 min readApr 13, 2019

Hi, I’m Brandi Starr (everyone say “Hi Brandi”). In my everyday life I’m the Chief Operating Officer at Tegrita, a wife, mother, modern marketing maven and a super social semi-hermit (it’s complicated). My oldest son is Derrian Brown…. and Broadway Mama exists because of him.

Currently, Derrian is a high school senior preparing to study musical theatre in college and his goal is to be a Broadway star! First and foremost I’m a mother trying to help her son navigate college, and adulthood while pursuing his passion.

I’m also a marketer and business leader. I’m learning about the theatre business helping my son navigate a highly competitive industry and consulting one of the major producers of Broadway Shows.

What Broadway Mama Is…

A way for me to share my proud mom moments and to document his journey through college and within the entertainment industry.

A channel for me to share my lessons learned and missteps within the business side of theater.

A lighthearted stream of consciousness blog that sometimes informative, sometimes comedic, and more times than not a brain dump of the things that are on my mind.

What Broadway Mama Isn’t…

A scholarly content outlet with proper writing form and punctuation. I think, I write, I look for the little squiggly lines to spellcheck, and then I hit publish. Life’s too busy for any more than that #DontJudgeMe

A place for debate, judgment, or tension. My subject matter isn’t controversial, but the internet tends to find a way to get butt hurt and argue over anything. “Water is wet” becomes a tense discussion. #ImNotHereForThat

What to expect…

Photos, videos, memories, recaps of experiences, and most of all inconsistency. I write when I have something on my mind. No more, no less.

So now that we know why we are here and have set some ground rules. Welcome!

— Broadway Mama

--

--