What’s Up With Couple Seating In Theaters?

Sera Maddingly
Broken Mirror Reflections
3 min readDec 2, 2019

--

Want a seat to yourself? You get the worst viewing angle.

Several of the theaters in my area have been revamped with the new fancy seating that seems to have taken off in droves these days. Comfortable seats for movies that are now sometimes 3 hours are great!

Except when it isn’t.

The theaters around my area have gotten the bright idea to make ALL the new seating selections “couple seats” aside for a few lone seats at the very edge of the rows. Plus, the number seating has been more than cut in half from what used to be available. And don’t get me started on being forced to reserve seats.

Anyway, back to this disaster of couple seating. As an INTJ I absolutely hate that theaters have chosen to make all the prime viewing seats for couples. If you haven’t seen this brilliant *sarcastic sigh* idea come to life in your own theater, couple seats are those that do not have a full armrest in the middle of the two seats and some have none at all. These seats also recline.

Airlines are bad enough. Now we can feel too close for comfort in overpriced theaters too.

So imagine, you’re a single person going to a movie only to find that you’ll now be basically sitting in a loveseat next to a…

--

--

Sera Maddingly
Broken Mirror Reflections

Digital Creator | Author | Corgi Lover. I write my truth. I write my pain. I write whatever pokes at my Scanner mind.❤