Imperfections

Jordie Wright
BROKEN YOUTH
Published in
2 min readSep 17, 2016

I am far from perfect.

My skin is covered in blemishes and lines. My hair has knots and split ends. My body has curves and creases where I wish it didn’t.

My imperfections go beyond my surface.

I am lazy. I will push deadlines beyond the limit. I will leave plates and cups in my bedroom for a worrying amount of time. I have magazines from three years ago piled high in the corner and my bed is rarely made.

I am a pushover. I allow people to talk over me, tell me what to do and make me feel like I’m nothing. I will always put others before myself to avoid upset.

I am indecisive. I can’t decide what film to watch, what food to eat or what to wear. Ever. I will always make you decide for me. Decisions of any size scare me.

I allow my brain to poison my mood and warp my perception of reality. Terrible thoughts consume me until I crumble and I can’t pick up the pieces. My mind tears me apart and I can’t stop it.

But the thing that makes all these flaws okay? You.

When you fall in love and learn about this incredible person in front of you, you also learn about yourself. And you learn that it’s okay to be imperfect.

Yes I’m lazy, but you motivate me. You tell me when to pick up after myself. You encourage me to meet my deadlines and to write again.

You urge me to put myself first, give me the words to defend myself, and stand up for me when I can’t.

You understand my indecisiveness and make plans for us, but make me decide little things every so often.

You read my emotions and know when my mind has taken over. You protect me from those poisonous thoughts and keep me safe.

When you find someone who fits you, their flaws and yours wrap together perfectly.

Your temper is soothed by my calmness. You maybe talk too much, but my need to be quiet welcomes that.

The right person will have the flaws that compliment yours.

--

--

Jordie Wright
BROKEN YOUTH

21. Pretending to be a writer. Awkwardly trying to navigate through life.