Chimichurri Mac n Cheese

Brooke Reynolds
Brooke’s Original Recipes
2 min readApr 21, 2018

The first time I had a chimichurri sauce, I was enjoying dinner at a taco shop. A family member shared a taste of his chimichurri mac n cheese, and I was blown away! My husband and I bought our own serving. I couldn’t wait to make a version of it myself.

Ingredients:
16 oz shell pasta
4 oz pepper jack, shredded
4 oz monterey jack, shredded
2 T butter
2 T c flour
1 1/2 cups milk
3 carrots, julienned
1 red bell pepper, julienned
1 jalapeno, sliced thin

Chimichuri Sauce:
1 bunch parsley
1 bunch cilantro
1/2 onion
2 t garlic
2 T lime
2 T vinegar
1/2 t oregano
1 t cumin
Salt & pepper to taste
1/4 cup water

Directions:
Cook noodles in a pot by adding shell pasta, a dash of salt, and enough cold water to cover the noodles. Bring to a boil; when all the water is absorbed (about 6–8 minutes), remove from heat. Blend all the chimichuri sauce ingredients in a food processor. Saute carrot, red pepper, and jalapeno in oil (saute jalapeno separately if desired for kids) in a medium pan. In a medium pot, melt the butter over medium-high heat, then add the flour and whisk. Cook for 2 minutes. Add milk and bring to a boil. Stir until thickened. Add cheeses a little at a time and mix until melted. Add half of the chimichuri sauce, adding more as desired. Mix veggies and cheese sauce with the cooked noodles. If desired, add extra chimichuri, red pepper flakes, and salt and pepper to taste.

--

--

Brooke Reynolds
Brooke’s Original Recipes

I'm a mom, an adoptive parent, and am passionate about family, food, community, and education. I try to follow Jesus Christ by adding goodness to the world!