Balsamic Vinegar Veggie Mac

Brooke Reynolds
Brooke’s Original Recipes
2 min readApr 18, 2018

We had recently been to an Italian restaurant and I was reminded how much I love the flavor of the oil and herb vinegar dip for the bread. I wanted to bring that into a mac and cheese. I had to adjust a few of the herbs after making the sauce, so I tried to remember how much I put in. Feel free to add more herbs as desired!

Ingredients:
2 small heads broccoli, chopped small
1 pint cherry tomatoes, halved
4 medium carrots, sliced thin
1/2 red onion, diced
16 oz elbow (or shell) noodles, cooked al dente
6 oz parmesan, plus more for top (or other shredded hard cheese)
Salt and red pepper flakes, to taste

Balsamic Vinegar Sauce:
1 cup olive oil
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
1 tsp basil
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp kosher salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp rosemary
1 tsp dried parsley

Directions:
Cook pasta al dente. Heat 1 tsp oil in wok. Stir fry broccoli, carrots, and onion until slightly tender. Add tomatoes and continue to stir fry for 2 minutes. Add the cooked noodles. Whisk together the balsamic sauce ingredients and add to the wok. Mix in parmesan and enjoy! Top with additional cheese and red pepper flakes as desired.

--

--

Brooke Reynolds
Brooke’s Original Recipes

I'm a mom, an adoptive parent, and am passionate about family, food, community, and education. I try to follow Jesus Christ by adding goodness to the world!