Orange Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Brooke Reynolds
Brooke’s Original Recipes
1 min readApr 21, 2018

I did one version of these lettuce wraps, but it didn’t turn out well, so I tried it again. I’m not sure it’s perfect yet but here it is. For years my go-to favorite meal was Orange Chicken, until I discovered the many pleasures of Indian food. But Orange Chicken is still a loved, often made dinner, so I mixed it into a lettuce wrap variation.

Ingredients
2 large chicken breasts, cut in thin slices
1 head Boston lettuce, separated
1 red pepper, diced
1 carrot, shredded
1 can bamboo shoots, drained
2 green onion, diced

Orange sauce:
1 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
1/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup white vinegar
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tablespoons orange zest
1 teaspoon Sriracha, or more, to taste
Pepper to taste
2 T cornstarch
2 T water

Directions:
Combine all sauce ingredients in a medium pot, except cornstarch and water, and simmer until boiling. Mix together cornstarch and water into a slurry. Stir into the sauce. Cook until thickened about 5 minutes. Heat 1 T of oil in a wok and cook the chicken until browned. Add salt. Add sauce to chicken, and serve along with other lettuce wrap ingredients. Serve with rice, if desired.

--

--

Brooke Reynolds
Brooke’s Original Recipes

I'm a mom, an adoptive parent, and am passionate about family, food, community, and education. I try to follow Jesus Christ by adding goodness to the world!