A Design Thinker starts with why

--

Hi there everyone!

I would like to share some of my first important learnings I got here at Hyper Island. I’m going through an intensive course which gave me the opportunity to dive deep into the brain of a Design Thinker.

In the purpose economy it is all about the why. Here at Hyper Island we design and think about what our client needs instead of what he wants. There is a difference between needs and wants but many companies take advantage of this confusion. A more traditional company will first and foremost listen and communicate to the ‘what’, as Simon Sinek explains very well.

So, as a metaphorical example: Someone comes to you and says, “hey, I want you to build a bridge!” you could ask: “so why would you want me to build a bridge?” “well to get across the river..” “But why do you want to get across the river?” “well, to send someone a message”.

Well oke then, there are a lot of easier and cheaper ways to build a bridge right?

But this also happens a lot in the IT-Business.
A company could come up to you and ask: ‘’So we want you to build us an app! Why do you want an app?”
Do you really need an app, or could it be something even better and cheaper then an app?
Because a lot of the time an app or other service wouldn’t solve the problem.

When we figured out why? We find out how, When we find out how, We’ll find out What.

--

--