A HOME LEFT BEHIND

The Journey

Writing*Jabeen.S
BrothersonTribeCo
Published in
2 min readMar 20, 2024

--

As I was relaxing in my backyard, my eyes caught sight of a new visitor. She was tiny, moving from one place to another.

As I closely watched her, a voice came from behind me.

“Don’t peek into others' lives."……voice echoed.

When I turned, it was my son with a smile, saying,

"Mamma, no peeking into others' lives."

He held my hand and led me into the house.

After that day, every afternoon, I spotted her. I silently watched her; she was tiny and delicate.

I named her "Hamna."

Why was she moving around here? I thought for a while; maybe she was in search of a house.

"Oh, we are going to get new neighbors," I realized.

One morning, I spotted her again, this time with her partner. It confirmed they were in search of a house. After that, they were frequent visitors. Daily, they were moving and assembling.

I silently kept an eye on them. Now and then, my son would peek behind me and repeat, "If they find out you are watching them secretly, they might leave our area."

He would then forcibly take me into the house.

After four days, I found both partners entering their new homes.

One week buzzed with their movements and tiny gossip. In the early hours, our house echoed with neighbors’ house repairs. That day, I closed my doors to avoid noise and dust, forgetting about the new couple. Two, or three days passed, and there was no sight of the new visitors. I silently waited for their glance, but none came. At last, I couldn’t control my curiosity.

I decided to peek into their house, so I approached slowly. My son followed closely behind me, eager to peek into the house before I did. He quickly glanced inside, and with wide eyes, he exclaimed, Mamma, eggs! Mamma eggs!

Photo by author

Thank you for stopping by and reading my work.

If you would like to write for Brotherson Tribe Co.

Please see the guidelines here

--

--

Writing*Jabeen.S
BrothersonTribeCo

I am a new entrant in the world of writing. Trying my hands at writing in leisure time. I craft stories that happened in my around,to improve quality of life.