Photo by LinkedIn Sales Solutions on Unsplash

What Are You Worth To You?

Finding Liberation in Unworthiness

Published in
3 min readApr 13, 2024

--

A sense of inadequacy crashed into me as I sat there on the sofa, looking through her LinkedIn profile. I knew her. We had shared classes and volunteered together. Yet, as I saw her accomplishments and her awards, I felt tiny.

She was intelligent, talented, and driven. And I am only 1 out of the 3 traits. As if that wasn’t enough, I harbored a secret crush on her.

I foolishly believed that I stood a chance. But as I looked, it became clear she was leagues beyond me. No, not even that.

That’s like saying volcanoes cause property damage. True, but a significant understatement. She was in an entirely different dimension than me.

I felt a crushing blow to my self-esteem. Every ounce of confidence I had mustered up was suddenly taken away, leaving me feeling unworthy and insignificant.

Photo by Florian Schmetz on Unsplash

How could I ever hope to compete with someone like her? The answer was simple — I couldn’t.

But then, something unexpected happened. A strange feeling of freedom washed over me.

I was freed from the handcuffs of comparison and insecurity, by accepting my perceived inadequacy.

I realized I didn’t need her validation or approval to feel worthy. I didn’t need to measure up to her standards or compete for her attention.

In fact, I didn’t need her at all. Sure, she may have been intelligent and talented, but who’s to say she was any happier or fulfilled than I was?

Who’s to say that her life was as perfect as it appeared on the surface? Maybe she was simply overrated, and maybe, just maybe, I was better off without her.

I know it sounds incredibly cliché, like that timeless story “The Fox and the Grapes.” And for those who think that I understand why.

But acceptance can be incredibly liberating. Accepting that I was unworthy meant I didn’t feel the need to measure up. I was free to focus on myself.

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

So, to anyone out there who has ever felt inadequate or unworthy when compared to another, I urge you to embrace acceptance.

Accept that you may never be on the same level as those you admire.

And that it is okay!

True self-worth doesn’t come from measuring up to someone else’s arbitrary standards, it comes from accepting that you are enough.

Thanks for taking the time to read my story. Please clap to let me know that you were here and read my story. You can clap up to 50 times if you like. Please highlight any parts that you enjoy. And I’d appreciate it if you’d leave me a comment about any thoughts you might have. I’m always trying to improve and looking for ways to improve. Support Medium writers by reading or scrolling to the bottom of the page for at least 30 seconds. #HelpSupportMediumAuthor

--

--