Six Affirmations for South Asian Women with Imposter Syndrome

Brown Women Health
Brown Women Health
Published in
3 min readJan 24, 2023

Hey there, have you ever felt like you aren’t doing enough? You’re not alone, this feeling is known as imposter syndrome, and it’s something that a lot of South Asian women can relate to. Whether it’s the pressure to be a “Sharma ji ki beti” (a term used to refer to an ideal daughter from a good family in India), or the fear of being exposed as a fraud, imposter syndrome can hold us back from reaching our full potential.

Imposter syndrome is not unique to South Asian women, but it’s a common experience for many of us.

It’s that nagging feeling that you don’t belong in your current role, that you’re not good enough, or that you’re going to be exposed as a fraud. This can be incredibly detrimental to our mental and emotional well-being, and can hold us back from reaching our full potential.

‘Racial Impostor Syndrome’: Here Are Your Stories : Code Switch : NPR

But, the good news is that imposter syndrome is not a permanent condition, and it can be overcome with the right tools and mindset. One of the most powerful tools we have is affirmations. Affirmations are positive statements that we can repeat to ourselves to counteract negative thoughts and beliefs.

Here are some of my favorite affirmations to help me overcome imposter syndrome:

  1. “I have a unique set of skills and experiences that make me valuable and irreplaceable.”
  2. “I am proud of my cultural heritage and it adds value to my work and life.”
  3. “I am grateful for the opportunities and support that have brought me to where I am today and will continue to work hard and achieve more.”
  4. “I will not let societal and cultural pressures hold me back from reaching my full potential.”
  5. “I am worthy of love, respect and success, in all aspects of my life.”
  6. “I am strong, capable and worthy of success, just like any other Sharma ji ki beti.” 😉

It’s important to note that affirmations are not a one-time fix. They take time and consistent practice to change our thought patterns and beliefs. But, with practice and patience, you’ll be able to overcome imposter syndrome and reach your full potential.

3 ways to protect yourself from imposter syndrome | Opensource.com

At Brown Women Health, we understand the unique challenges faced by South Asian women, including imposter syndrome. We have resources and information available on our website and podcast episodes that can help you understand and overcome imposter syndrome.

And if you want more tips and resources like these, be sure to subscribe to our newsletter at lu.ma/brownwomenhealth and follow us on Instagram @brownwomenhealth. Remember, you are not alone, and with the right tools and mindset, you can overcome imposter syndrome and reach your full potential.

--

--

Brown Women Health
Brown Women Health

Our blog is an attempt to take existing research and raise awareness among South Asian Women so that we can eliminate health disparities.