First Half

Namrata Gummalla
Brownian Motion
Published in
4 min readOct 3, 2021
Runner’s eye view

I’ve always thought of running, especially long distance running, as the ultimate endurance sport. I’ve spent hours marveling at people who comfortably run up hills when the best that I could do was hike my way up while huffing and puffing. So, when I signed up for my first half marathon this year, it was to finally act on a long-time goal and check a bucket list activity. After years of dreaming and three months of training, I finally got to participate and successfully finish my first half marathon! And while there’s still a long way to go before I call myself a runner or reach the stage where running looks and feels effortless, I wanted to take some time to pen down how I feel today and the few lessons I learnt while cranking up those miles on a warm summer day along California’s stunning coastline…

One of my resolutions this year was to try out new hobbies and step outside my comfort zone. Pursuing new hobbies gives me the chance to work and think in new ways. I feel like a sponge who was absorbing information and experiences to quench the thirst that’s been caused by years of predictable choices. As cliched as this might sound, this new-found style of thought and expression also manifested in other aspects of my life such as work and made me more efficient and less stressed in general. Above all, it taught me that it’s perfectly fine to be moderate at something as long as I’m willing to learn and put in the time and effort to improve. In fact, mediocrity is also okay if that’s all I want from it. I know that I’ll probably never be the best embroider, but the simple act of embroidering designs on cloth gives me joy and sometimes, that’s all that matters. If you’re reading this, you’ve obviously gone through the process of learning alphabets, words, sounds and language. I’m sure your five-year-old self will tell you that it was no mean task but as kids, we had the skill to pick up new things faster. I can’t help but attribute that to the fact that we were not bogged down by our general standards of excellence and weren’t as terrified of “making a fool” of ourselves.

If there’s one thing that I’ve learnt from the few different activities that I’ve tried out this year, it’s that there’s always room for improvement. There will always be someone who does it better than you — but that must never stop you from trying or even competing with them. If nothing else, it’s a great humbler which is much needed to stay sane in this day and age where we are often led to believe that we do it best. Also, the joy when you spend time on learning something and then accomplish it is unparalleled. I’ll wrap this up by quoting what has been my mantra ever since I first heard it a few years ago –“Specialization is for insects”. As human beings, we have the great blessing to be able to dabble in a host of experiences. Sticking to just a couple is akin to throwing away the winning lottery ticket. Let’s not be guilty of that grave sin.

Had my run taken me longer, I would have probably had a few more moments of epiphany and additonal thoughts to share with you all. For now, this is all I have to offer. But here’s a shameless plug — stay tuned to this blog if you care to read my posts which I’m often delusional enough to think can make a difference.

This semi-celebratory post though will be incomplete without a few thank yous: To my beast of a runner friend M whose enthusiasm for running is infectious and who ensured that my Strava was not inactive for long. To my other friend M who constantly supported and cheered from afar, who sent me links to the best running gear and who was probably more excited than me on race day. To the two A’s for driving me around, accompanying me on hikes and ensuring that I never took myself or the race too seriously. To my Dad who patiently listened to me after all my runs and was as invested on my performance on D day as he would have been if I were appearing for a job interview. Apologies to all his friends who were forced to see photos and videos and feign excitement over my accomplishment. Last but definitely not the least, like most things in life, I was introduced to running by my dear big brother. Running a half marathon was on my bucket list ever since he ran his first because his adoring sister thought that If Anna can do it, so can she. But more importantly, if he thinks it’s cool and worth doing, it most definitely is. So here’s dedicating my first half marathon to him, and to the superhero he once gave his medal to.

--

--