1 minute trail builder

Bruce Winter
bruce photos
Published in
4 min readJul 31, 2016

The newest member of our backyard menagerie, a red-tailed hawk:

Unrelated to the red-tailed moth (I made up that name, but seems to fit):

Some of the other residents tried to ask the hawk what his intentions where:

But he simply started at them:

So now most of the birds seem a little more vigilant:

Some of them have adopted a ‘lets lose our feathers to look as un-appealing as possible’ tactic:

Meanwhile, the ant battles continue. This cicada put up a brave fight:

but the ant army was endless!

This snail was smart enough to stay out of harms way:

But this one was not:

Some insects seem just too scary for ants to mess with, like this one:

I betcha you can guess what I’ve been up to:

We don’t let any ‘stinking’ 95 degree weather stop us from having fun … doggy especially likes it when I turn into a salt lick:

A before and after shot of one of the latest trail projects:

I’ve been learning how to use a free video editing software called Resolve, so I made a couple of short time laps movies of the trail making process:

Dirt gets everywhere:

I take mercy on our shower and do phase one cleansing with the hose:

Found this guy trying to burrow into me. After extraction, I thought I had crushed him, but ticks are indestructible, so he escaped to find me another day:

Since I have the macro lens on, a few more macro shots…

Our hummingbird feeder got overwhelmed:

I love the way water droplets can magnify:

The geek video for this month was about a new trick in WiFi:

In case you missed my post about Boris:

Closing out with a picture of Boris’s spirit turtle, enjoying a bite of apple:

Bruce

--

--