My Transfer Story

Stephanie Toledo
Bruin TC Media
Published in
3 min readMar 6, 2019

I graduated high school in 2007, when the house market crashed, and the economy was at its worst since the Great Depression. I didn’t get into the university of my choice, so I opted for Long Beach State, because going to a community college was stigmatized. Unfortunately, I left Long Beach because I could not afford books, food or rent and it was extremely difficult finding a job. In 2010, I moved back home depressed that I failed college, my family, and myself. I began working low-paying jobs, at odd hours, with hopes of going back to college. In 2011, I tried community college but couldn’t pay for my spring courses, which put a hold on my account. It was clear to me that every time I went to college, money was always the issue. I decided it was best for me to work. After 5 years, I found a job to support me financially and paid off my student account balance to start online classes, which inspired me to transfer.

Two days after my acceptance to transfer to UCLA, I received a phone call from a UCLA student, Rachel, congratulating me. She was the President of the Pilipino Transfer Student Program (PTSP) at UCLA and was informing me about a two-day program called the Student Empowerment Networking Day (SEND). It was my first opportunity as a transfer student to experience the campus and receive helpful information about UCLA. My experience at SEND helped me see all the possibilities that I can accomplish and all the opportunities at UCLA I would have. It was the determining factor for me submitting my intent to register for Fall 2018. I received emails from different UCLA organizations that gave helpful information on what to expect, how to move, where to eat and basically everything I needed to do before the fall quarter started. I was able to volunteer as a Move-In Assistant which gave me the opportunity to move in earlier and meet other UCLA students. My excitement for UCLA and constantly attending events and meeting new people on campus, has made my transition easier.

Ever since coming into UCLA, being a transfer is something I am so proud of. I learned about how huge and welcoming the transfer community is, and have become involved with transfer focused groups, such as UCLA Residential Life, Transfer Student Representative committee, and volunteering at the Transfer Student Center. I participate, volunteer and outreach for transfer events to my transfer peers and have become very resourceful with UCLA knowledge. For me, being a UCLA transfer is being able to have a second chance. UCLA saw potential in me and believed in me. My life, work experiences and hardships made me stronger, wiser and shaped me into who I am today. Being a transfer student is an opportunity to meet other transfers, whether as a non-traditional student or first-gen, to build my connections and network with people to support myself and to support others.

Never give up on yourself or your dreams, it is never too late. One thing I have learned is rejection sucks, but regret is much worse. Always improve yourself and keep learning. In the end, your hard work will pay off tenfold.

--

--