Student Spotlight: Matthew Ling

BSS Press
BSS Press
Published in
2 min readFeb 7, 2020

[Interview by Anna Yang]

Every issue, BSS Press tries to shed light on students doing great things around the school through the Student Spotlight column. This time, we interviewed senior class academic superstar, Music Council president, and French aficionado Matthew Ling.

Illustration courtesy of Rita Chen.

Q: What kinds of extracurricular activities are you involved within at Bayview?

A: I’m in choir (you should join choir), band (you should join band), and HOSA (you should join HOSA). I also dedicate a lot of time to the art of sleeping and waste a lot of time waiting for buses.

Q: Describe yourself in five words.

A: Realistic, honest, practical, indecisive, paradoxical.

Q: What is your favourite subject and why?

A: French, for a number of reasons. The most important is that it gives you more job opportunities and money. Scholarships too, so even more money. It’s also an easy subject, and it allows you to discover a new culture and the multifaceted nature of language.

Q: Who is your favourite teacher and why?

A: Mme Sukerman because she was very funny. On Halloween in grade 9, she hid by the door of the portable and scared people with a broomstick as they walked in. I also learned a lot in her class (I never fell asleep once!) and her verb tests were the best. We also had a great one-way discussion about Napoleon III, Victor Hugo, and the French Republic.

Q: What is your favourite and least favourite thing about Bayview?

A: Least favourite things include the crowded hallways and lack of A/C. As for favourite thing… there are some very interesting people here. Great teachers as well.

Q: What are some things that you think most people would be surprised to know about you?

A: I meditate (sleep) in class occasionally (a lot), I am a chronic procrastinator, and I have absolutely no idea where I want to go after high school, what I want to study, and what I want to do in general.

Q: Do you think you’ve changed since coming to Bayview, and if so, how?

A: I haven’t, really. I had to ask some of my elementary school friends and they agree.

Q: What is your best memory of your time at Bayview?

A: Mme Sukerman’s phone call in grade 9 (the people who were in my class will understand). Also an incident in history class that shall remain unnamed but precious in my heart.

--

--