The Ray of Hope Charity Garden with Renée

BSS Press
BSS Press
Published in
4 min readNov 25, 2019

by Samantha Cheng

I never thought I would be volunteering at a vegetable garden this summer — it was an activity so foreign to me, I thought it was easy. However, on May 31 after school, I found myself clearing a small patch of weed for two hours. It was hot, the weeds were stubborn, and the work more laborious than I had ever anticipated. Second thoughts floated around my head about what I had just signed up for — but when I finished, it was unexpectedly fulfilling. I got to plant potatoes that day!

As I increasingly put in hours to help out, as well as accompanying Renée to deliver vegetables to 360°kids, I started to see the appeal of gardening. Seeing the land mature from brown soil, to small sprouts, to stalks taller than me, was nothing short of amazing. We had tomatoes, peppers, lettuce, kale, cucumber, broccoli, carrots, potatoes, beans, eggplants, and peas to name a few. To be honest, I never liked eating raw tomatoes, but I was blown away by just how sweet they were when I tried one that was freshly picked. Of course, delivering the fruits of our harvest to those in need made it even sweeter.

Italian cucumbers 🥒. Photo courtesy of Renée’s Kitchen
Thai peppers 🌶 Photo courtesy of Renée’s Kitchen

My experience would not be possible without Renée, the sweetest “gardening mentor” who entrusted me with the garden while she was on vacation, even when my only gardening experience was experimentally growing beans in science class. To give you a better understanding of Renée, I asked her a few questions about the garden, her job, and her life in general!

Me: How did you become passionate about food?

Renée: My culinary journey started at my birth home. Weekends were spent with my family making feasts for all who came over to visit, as a family, we loved to entertain. My inspiration came from my late pappie, whom I lost at a very young age. I have the fondest of memories watching him create the most heavenly meals. He taught me the basics of cooking my first dinner at the age of twelve. Both my parents were culinary creative genii, however. My late mom made the most perfect baked goods.

Can you introduce the Ray Of Hope Charity Garden?

R: Ray Of Hope is a non-profit charity garden planted for 360°kids, an organization that strives to improve the lives of at-risk and homeless youth in York Region. The land is donated by St. Paul’s Lutheran Church in Richmond Hill.

What motivated you to start it?

R: I grew up in Cape Town, South Africa, in a beautiful city with stunning beaches, picturesque mountains, and endless vineyards. However, South Africa is a country where many are less fortunate. In 2007, I visited my mom; one morning after taking the garbage bins to the curb I noticed a young child and his parents collecting food from garbage bins on our street. Truth be told, the food had mold on it. I stopped them and asked that they waited a short time while I went into my mom’s pantry, and raided her cupboards with what I could find to help this family.

Many years ago, when my children were young, I told my husband that I would love to volunteer my time when my kids are older, to help the less fortunate. I continued to work in the corporate setting and eventually decided to start Renée’s Kitchen. I’m now at a point in my life where I can make my own thoughts become a reality.

How did you achieve this vision?

R: A couple of summers ago I was speaking to my pastor, an energetic young man with great vision. I proposed utilizing the 0.75 acre of land at the church that has been sitting vacant. However, I submitted this to the church council for a Pilot Project, they took it off the agenda! I asked that the proposal be looked at again last November, but was met with twiddling thumbs. Eventually, it was approved this year⁠ — perseverance pays off!

Will you continue this next year?

R: I would love to continue this worthy cause. We live in a first world country, but many are oblivious to the fact that there are individuals in our own community who struggle to feed themselves. Depending on the church decision, in the future, I am planning on expanding this initiative!

Although school has begun, which means I will not be able to visit the garden as frequently as before, it’s certainly not the end of my gardening journey. I can’t wait for the fall harvest to see how my babies (the potatoes) turned out, and continue this amazing initiative next year!

--

--