Jennifer Bailey
BTG Life Cast
Published in
4 min readFeb 17, 2018

--

Faith in 2018

I don’t know about you but faith can be such a challenge to hold onto in our current culture. There are so very many things I do not understand….

I have slowly been reading through the book of Matthew. This morning I finished the book, reading through Jesus being arrested, his crucifixion, and rising from the dead 3 days later. I cannot fathom being a disciple of Jesus, seeing him arrested, and watching from afar as he was crucified. I cannot imagine living in that time period, dropping my entire life to follow a man claiming to be the son of God, and watching him die at the hands of the community. How could you not doubt? Waiting… waiting for days as he lies dead in a tomb with simply His words left on your ears as His blood was spilled before you… even though Jesus said it would happen.

Chap 26 v 2 “as you know, the Passover is two days away — and the Son of Man will be handed over to be crucified”

I cannot fathom attempting to understand it all despite the words Jesus spoke. It’s no wonder all the disciples deserted him, as I’m sure they were in utter fear as the sin of man wreaked havoc.

Yet Gods timing is amazing… before Jesus was arrested he told Peter in 26:31–35 that he would desert him 3 times before the rooster crows. Even in the midst of Peters lack of faith in the Son of Man, God was providing Peter evidence of His superiority that drove him to tears. As Peter heard that rooster crow after denying his Lord, not only did he face his own lack of faith but he was able to see and take heart that Jesus truly knew where He was headed willingly, to the cross.

In 26:55–56 as Jesus was being arrested and told his disciples to not fight the guards he stated “am I leading a rebellion, that you have come out with swords and clubs to capture me? Every day I sat in the temple courts teaching, and you did not arrest me. But this has all taken place that the writings of the prophets might be fulfilled”

Jesus addresses the timing of his capture. He sat, day in and day out, teaching and performing miracles and could have been arrested, stoned, captured… at any time. However Jesus trusted in His Father. Even though He knew of his impending death, He trusted God would align the right day, time, and circumstance and still built up his friends and those he loved day after day.

And then the crucifiction… my goodness. Reading the words of the insults hurled at Him on the cross brings me to tears. 27:43 “He trusts in God. Let God rescue him now if he wants him, for he said, ‘I am the Son of God’”. Can you imagine standing there and listening to that and still attempting to trust this man dieing before you? And then Jesus calls out to His Father… my God my God Why have you forsaken me?… oh my heart.

I say all this as we sit here in 2018 watching cancers, disabilities, murders, shootings, drugs, mental illness, suicide, natural disasters, and so much more flood our eyes day after day. I sit here with the Bible open in my lap and a phone full of social media and news explaining the state of our world. How do we trust the words on the pages we read… and not desert Jesus just as the disciples did?

This, my friends, is Faith. Jesus said he would die for the sin of man to purify us and give us eternal life. Jesus said he would leave us with the Holy Spirit as a friend and guide. God aligned the events of the crucifixion sacrificing His only Son and gave us the word of God to spread this knowledge. God said there would be suffering in this world but to hold onto Him, spread the gospel, and walk in love. God asks us to trust Him and tells us that things are gonna suck at times but we have joy, gifts, power, strength, and all the fruits of the spirit as we walk in Him. This. This is Faith.

As I read these words of the crucifixion and as I read the words of Jesus rising from the dead in this lent season… I am reminded that God will do what He says. I am reminded that although this world is sad and my heart will break with His, he will collect all our tears and he will take away this pain.

“He will wipe away every tear from their eyes. Death will no longer exist; grief, crying, and pain will exist no longer, because the previous things have passed away.”

‭‭Revelation‬ ‭21:4‬ ‭HCSB‬‬

I am reminded to keep fighting and trusting as Jesus did following His Father. I am reminded as I send my kids to school, having to trust in their health and safety, that God is with us despite what comes. I am reminded that I am following more than just words… I am following the true Lord in a faith that I may not always have the strength to trust… but a faith that he will not deny despite myself.

“if we are faithless, He remains faithful, for He cannot deny Himself.”

‭‭2 Timothy‬ ‭2:13‬ ‭HCSB‬‬

I am thankful that when I falter, God produces a rooster to crow in my own life and brings me back to His sights, despite ourselves. I am thankful that as God builds his church on people who falter like Peter did, the forces of evil, as we see in 2018 will not overcome it.

“And I also say to you that you are Peter, and on this rock I will build My church, and the forces of Hades will not overpower it.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭16:18‬ ‭HCSB‬‬

Hold onto faith despite what you see friends, and when you don’t, read His words, go to church, be in communion with the gospel and Gods community, and be reminded.

<3 a mom, wife, and child of God in 2018

--

--