2022: Best and Worst Moments as a Digital Nomad

An adventure and friendship-filled year

Kristi Jacobsen
Bucket List Nomad

--

Photo by Author: Hiking in Patagonia, Argentina

My digital nomad journey officially started in 2022. The world was finally opening up. I was no longer a caregiver needed at home. And I finally had a job I could do from anywhere whenever I wanted. So I dove into the digital nomad lifestyle and, quite literally, traveled halfway across the world.

As one does when choosing their first digital nomad destination, I chose the one furthest from home: Cape Town, South Africa. I joined a month long coliving community and jetted off on January 30, 2022.

To say it was the best decision of my life would be an understatement. The people, the scenery, the culture, and the digital nomad community made it hands down the best first nomad experience I could have ever imagined.

Photo by Author: Looking over Camps Bay from the top of Table Mountain

When I came home two months later (yes, I extended my stay an extra month), I felt the itch, the desire to travel, to see the world, and to really immerse myself in this lifestyle. It was everything I wanted from life.

So I ventured out in 2022, staying mostly within the US and Canada until November when I traveled to…

--

--

Kristi Jacobsen
Bucket List Nomad

I write about podcasting, entrepreneurship, digital nomadism, and achieving long-term results.