Traveling Alone or Traveling Together: Solo Versus Community Travel

The benefits of traveling alone and traveling with a community

Kristi Jacobsen
Bucket List Nomad

--

Photo by Helena Lopes on Unsplash

Last week marked the end of a four-week trip to Valparaiso, Chile, with my digital nomad community. The “see you laters” were especially hard this time, as we had an incredible month together coliving, coworking, and touring the country. We had family dinners and cookouts at the house, road-tripped to Santiago for the weekend, and flew north to San Pedro de Atacama for an unforgettable three days in the desert.

When I look back at this experience and the other places I traveled to over the last two years as a digital nomad, the trips that stand out in my mind are the ones I took with digital nomad communities. Sure, solo travel taught me many lessons and helped me gain confidence in myself and my abilities. Still, there’s something magical about traveling with a community and sharing those experiences with like-minded individuals.

If you’re starting your digital nomad journey, you might wonder whether it’s better to go at it solo or join a digital nomad community. While I prefer traveling with a digital nomad community, another digital nomad might prefer to travel solo. Each has benefits, depending on what you are looking to get out of your experience. Here are some benefits…

--

--

Kristi Jacobsen
Bucket List Nomad

I write about podcasting, entrepreneurship, digital nomadism, and achieving long-term results.