Meet The Team: Daniel Fogg, COO

BuffaloGrid
Inside BuffaloGrid
Published in
3 min readJun 7, 2018

We all know corporate profiles can be boring. That’s why these snapshots are designed to give you a quick idea of who we are and what we do.

Think you’d fit in? Take a look at our open positions now.

This time we catch up with Daniel Fogg, COO and co-founder.

Hi Daniel, tell us one thing not a lot of people know about you?

I was that kid selling sweets out of my rucksack at school, until the school shut me down. My dad pretended he disapproved but in reality he was the bagman driving me to and from the wholesalers.

First thing you do in the morning?

I listen to the Today show on Radio 4, then race my wife to the shower, mainly because the last person there has to wipe it down with the squeegee.

What are you working on right now?

Getting really excited about the marketing of our latest batch of Hubs. We’re taking a leaf out of Elon Musk’s playbook and developing a new exciting way of funding off-grid energy technology.

I’m also looking at expanding the team and getting a kick out of launching processes that are designed to help us grow quicker.

First mobile phone?

It was a Philips Savvy with a 0–9 keypad. It was £10 on some pay-as-you-go deal and was a pretty basic old school Nokia-style text phone.

Someone once tried to mug me at a Metrolink station in Manchester but they gave my phone back when they realised what I had.

What phone do you have now?

iPhone 7

Last thing you used it for?

Checking Slack I think

Show me a photo you’ve taken with it and explain

Here’s a photo of my cat trying to work with me.

How many cups of tea/coffee do you drink a day

I’ll have one coffee between 9–10:30, always a black filter. It’s like hard drugs for me and I’ll just zing around if I drink any more.

I’ll then do a tactical brew at teatime which is set by our product manager, Farihah but usually around 3. That’s tea time at Buffalogrid and we enjoy the ritual. We’ve got a cool selection of Assam, Ceylon, Russian Caravan and Masala Chai at the moment.

Bike owner? How far do you cycle a week?

I go cycling on the track at the olympic park which is just next to the office. I try to do 20 miles in an hour twice a week, so I end up riding about 40 miles a week. When BuffaloGrid was based at InnovationRCA in Battersea I was cycling about 90 miles!

What motivates you?

Bringing power to millions of people across the world, all while building one of the world’s great hardware companies.

It’s exciting to be building a business with a model and technology platform that has never been done before at scale.

Song of the moment?

--

--

BuffaloGrid
Inside BuffaloGrid

We believe life is better on the internet. It’s why we’re on a mission to connect the next billion