The Real Deal on Carbs and Weight Loss: My Journey to Balance

BuffBao
BuffBao
Published in
3 min readSep 12, 2023
Photo by henry perks on Unsplash

For years, I avoided carbs like the plague, convinced they would ruin my figure.

While I dropped some pounds at first, I was constantly hungry and definitely not enjoying my “diet.”

Doesn’t being healthy mean finding balance and satisfaction too?

It’s time for some carb candor.

I’m going to share what I’ve learned about carbs, weight loss and living your best life — including some delicious discoveries along the way.

No judgment here, just the facts to help you feel your best without feeling deprived.

What exactly ARE carbs, anyway?

Simply put, carbs are fuels our bodies need.

Like cars, we run on different types of fuel — some that give quick energy bursts and others that keep us cruising all day.

Problem is, I used to think all carbs were created equal (and bad for my bod).

As I dove into the details, I learned not all carbs are created equal.

There are complex carbs like quinoa and brown rice that digest slowly, keeping me full for hours without the crazy insulin spikes.

Then there are simple carbs like candy and white bread that flood my system so I crash and crave more soon after.

Aha moment!

Armed with this insight, I reintroduced carbs back into my life gradually.

I started with just a half cup of whole grains or starchy veggies per meal so I could get used to the “volume.”

No longer was I afraid to indulge — I just needed balance.

Now, I fuel up in the mornings on oats or whole wheat toast (with nut butter, of course).

At lunch, it’s brown rice or farro salad to keep me energized until dinner.

And for that after-work treat?

A small baked potato and some grilled salmon hit the spot without the bloat.

Does this mean I can never have pasta or pizza again?

Not at all!

I just portion them out as sometimes foods and pair with lean protein for balance.

Depriving yourself long-term just isn’t sustainable or enjoyable in my book.

My friends, finding your personal carb cadence takes some trial and error.

But I promise you can have your carbs and slim down too when you focus on quality, timing and moderation.

Who’s with me in making peace with pasta?

Let’s get balancing!

Accelerate Your Fitness Progress

Supplements get you to the next level of your fitness journey by providing you with the extra edge you need to optimize your performance and results.

Essentials Bundle: If you’re thinking about starting/restarting your fitness journey, start with this! Enter buffbao in checkout to get 20% discount off your order

Protein Powder, Shakes, Bars: Vital for muscle building. Great to have on days when it’s hard to hit your macros. Enter buffbao in checkout to get 20% discount off your order

Pre-workout & Creatine: Great for muscle recovery and performance. Enter buffbao in checkout to get 20% discount off your order

Fat Burners: Helps you burn fat by increasing your metabolism. Enter buffbao in checkout to get 20% discount off your order

Workout Apparel: Workout comfortably while looking fashionable at the same time! Enter buffbao in checkout to get 20% discount off your order

As a Redcon1 tier operator, I earn from qualifying purchases. This means that when you buy something through my links, I get a small commission at no extra cost to you and you save money with a discount off your order. Thank you for your support and trust!

Need a workout & meal plan?

I got you covered!

Every week, I send you personalized workout & meal plans that match your needs, goals, and preferences. No need to spend hours researching and trying out fitness plans that were made for someone else.

In addition, I answer questions that you may have while working out. Subscribe below!

--

--

BuffBao
BuffBao

Foodies Who Lift. We love 2 things: Lifting & Eating. Start your fitness journey! https://linktr.ee/thebuffbao