Launching Project Gulliver

Ronnie Joseph
Bug Bounty Hunting
Published in
2 min readAug 13, 2020

I was full of self doubt whether to jump into something weird as this project. But then I decided to plunge into it. At least I will learning something new from this . I maybe stupid, but at least I stood up for my idea.

I always wanted to start an initiative where we could easily facilitate and include the general population and make then partners in fighting spam and improving security.

Around this time, I got further attracted to the idea of helping out bloggers. The vast majority of internet is run by small bloggers. The lone incentive and profit for them is serving ads. The most famous among them is using Google Adsense.

Adsense has several policies in place to control and approve AdSense authorisation for websites including automated tools. Unfortunately there is no one stop place to report sites which are infringing adsense policies; other than a feedback form.

We want to create an open source initiative to help and block such sites asap and report it to Google such that, the real genuine sites having AdSense have a fair game in the business.

Project Gulliver is open for everyone and facilitates the reporting of spam sites running AdSense. We call programmers, security researchers and bloggers who can help find and flag such sites.

To aid interested friends, I have listed 2 flagged sites including their adsense publication id.

After logging a good no. of such sites. (min. 25) , we will send mails to Adsense team which will help quick review to take down such sites.

Here’s the catch,

One man can’t do everything alone. I can take the initiative , but the open source community must come forward and help to find such sites.

I have given a complete overview on the GitHub readme.md about the Goals, Outcomes and Process.

I request you to come, contribute.

  • If you have done even one contribution, please add your name to the contribution list.
  • If you are interested with the idea and are ok to discuss future activities, contribute in future, give suggestions, pls leave your name in the interested.md (with contact if you wish) so that we can connect with you in the near future. :)

Taaanks.

UPDATE: PROJECT SHUT FOR GOOD. BETTER INVEST TIME CODING.

--

--