Black Screen Again Trying to RDP Back Into an AWS M7i-flex EC2 instance

M7i instance worked fine

Teri Radichel
Bugs That Bite
Published in
4 min readDec 17, 2023

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

⚙️ Check out my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics | Code.

🔒 Related Stories: Bugs | AWS Security | Secure Code

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Left a process running overnight on two EC2 instances. One was an M7i xlarge type instance. One was an M7i-flex large instance. Both running same type of process and not taxed as far as I can tell, but M7i has more memory.

Tried to log back into M7i-flex with RDP and can only get a black screen. The M7i seems to be working fine.

After writing the above text and waiting however long that took I saw the screen come back and the login window popped up but somehow it closed. I’m not sure if I did that or it shut down on its own.

I logged back in and got a completely black screen again but then after that last paragraph the window appeared and I had to enter the password a second time. Then I could get in.

When I login I can see that CPU is randomly maxed out even though Burp is running very, very slowly on the machine having issues.

--

--

Teri Radichel
Bugs That Bite

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award