Cannot Start or Stop AWS EC2 Instances: Fixed

Related to dashboard does not exist error — can’t see status or manage instances in one account but another works fine

Teri Radichel
Bugs That Bite

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

⚙️ Check out my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics | Code.

🔒 Related Stories: Bugs | AWS Security | Secure Code

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m in an account where I can’t stop or start instances. The status of the instance (running, stopped, etc.) is just spinning so I can’t see it.

As reported in my last post I’m getting a Dashboard does not exist error in CloudTrail logs for CloudWatch:

I have a running instance and I currently cannot stop it or restart it. I suppose I can do it from the command line but wondering what is going on here. I’ve bot this account open in incognito mode. I don’t see anything blocked in my firewall logs.

I have another account open and it seems to be working fine.

--

--

Teri Radichel
Bugs That Bite

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award